Annual Charles B. Huggins Resident Essay Contest

January 4, 2017

Congratulations to our 2017 winners!

1st Place (Clinical Research): Mathew Fakhoury, MD- Cook County

1st Place (Clinical Research): Nabeel Hamoui, MD- Northwestern University

1st Place (Basic Science): Daniel Oberlin, MD-Northwestern University

2nd Place (Clinical Research): Andrew Cohen, MD- University of Chicago

2nd Place (Basic Science): Joceline Fuchs, MD- Northwestern University

3rd Place (Clinical Research): Dimitri Papagiannopoulos, MD-Rush University

3rd Place (Basic Science): Jessica Wetterlin, MD-Loyola University

Congratulations to our 2016 winners!

1st Place (Clinical Research): Robert Blackwell, MD- Loyola University
1st Place (Clinical Research): Julia Fiuk, MD- Southern Illinois University
1st Place (Basic Science): Jessica Hannick, MD- Loyola University
2nd Place (Clinical Research): Joceline Liu, MD-Northwestern University
3rd Place (Clinical Research): Vignesh Packiam, MD-University of Chicago


ANNUAL Irving J. Shapiro X-Ray CONTEST

April 5, 2017

The Chicago Urological Society is pleased to once again be hosting the Annual Irving J. Shapiro X-Ray Conference in conjunction with the April 5th meeting. If you are interested in participating, please review the following information. To submit an X-Ray for this contest, please complete THIS FORM and email it to by March 17, 2017. 

About your submission:

•    All x-rays, CT scans, ultrasound studies, etc., are to be presented in Power Point format only (presentation must be on a flash drive) 

•    Each presenter will be expected to show only one or two “pertinent” films, CT “cuts”, etc., that demonstrate the pathology

•    The case presentation and slides should not give away the diagnosis, but simply entice the “reader” and audience into providing a diagnosis

•    All cases must have surgically confirmed tissue diagnosis. Pertinent slides of laboratory data and pathology can and should be used

•    Each case will be limited to 5-7 minutes for presentation and “reading” of the case. 

•    Cases will be grouped into the following categories:
1) mass lesions of the upper urinary tract
2) pelvic mass lesions
3) hydronephrosis
4) pediatrics
5) miscellaneous

•    Resident winners will receive cash prizes. CUS member winners will receive a plaque. 

Congratulations to our 2016 winners!

1st Place (Ketamine Bladder): Dimitri Papagiannopoulos, MD- Rush University
2nd Place (Migrated Vascular Clip Causing Kindey Stone): Daniel Oberlin, MD- Northwestern University
3rd Place (Extranodal NK/T Cell Lymphoma): Daniel Mazur, MD- Northwestern University